I was at a breakfast meeting yesterday and I ordered an egg sandwich on gluten free bun with no cheese. The waitress talked to the kitchen about my dairy allergy and quickly returned to my table to say “I’m sorry, but the gluten free bun is dusted with egg white so since you can’t have dairy did you want to go with no bun?”
There are two reasons why that question didn’t make sense. I was already having eggs in my sandwich so egg white dusted on my bun didn’t matter. More importantly eggs are from chickens, dairy is from cows. Eggs are found in the meat section of the food guide, dairy is found in the dairy section. Wonder what the confusion is? It’s a common question that I get at restaurants so I thought I would write about it.
If you are avoiding dairy, you can still have eggs, and some mayo because it is egg based as long as you are not sensitive to them.
For the record, my breakfast was amazing!